top of page
Ancre 1
image3_edited.jpg

Brome Lake: the city’s
economic heart

It is essential to remember that the quality of the social fabric and the economic level of Lac-Brome is directly proportional to the quality of the lake water and its safe uses; the two components are intrinsically linked.

An unusable lake means, among other things, a drop in the property value of residences, loss of income for the municipality, drop in tourist attraction, the number of second homes, reduction in tourism and business customers.

Brome Lake

Issued : May 16, 2024

Water transparency

SECCHI depth

Water temperature

Risk of cyanobacteria bloom

Water level

Water flow at outlet

Clear

5,8 m of visibility

15,6 °C

Very low

197 m

5,00 m³/sec

Condition du lac

Conditions générales du lac

The life of a lake on a geological scale is relatively short.  Like human life, from birth, the lake ages, the walls of its basin are slowly covered with sediments from the tributaries, or organic matter that decomposes at the bottom.  Slowly the lake changes, it becomes shallower, there is more siltation, aquatic plants, until the day when the lake looks more like a marsh than a body of water proper.  All these changes modify the trophic level of the lake, which means: the level of biological production and the physicochemical composition of the water.

Niveaux trophiques des lacs

CLB measures throughout the summer the different parameters that give an indication of the trophic level of the lake.  The following table shows what levels the lake is at in 2021 according to each indicator.

Niveau trophique lac Brome 2023_RSVL.png
jumelles-chaloupe_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

The mesotrophic lake

The lake is considered mesotrophic, so the lake is productive, this productivity is characterized by an increase in algae and aquatic plants. The change from an oligotrophic lake to a eutrophic lake naturally operates over a long time scale, but human activities can cause these changes to accelerate rapidly.

lac.png
Qualité de l'eau

Abundant phosphorus and nitrogen are the main cause of this degradation.

These essential nutrients for plants, when present in excess, create an imbalance that increases the productivity of the lake.  So more food, more plants and fish, but also eventually, a lack of oxygen for aerobic living beings, such as fish. The level of chlorophyll is high, which shows an environment with a very high biomass of microscopic algae in suspension. This variable places the trophic state of the lake in the eutrophic class.

As for the average concentration of dissolved organic carbon, it is 3.4 mg/l, which indicates that the water is slightly colored.  The color therefore has a small effect on the transparency of the water. The loss of water transparency is therefore attributable to the algae present in the water column.

bottom of page

top of page
Ancre 1
image3_edited.jpg

Le lac Brome : poumon économique de la ville

Il est essentiel de rappeler que la qualité du tissu social et du niveau économique de Lac-Brome est directement proportionnelle à la qualité de l’eau du lac et de ses usages; les deux composantes sont intrinsèquement liées.

Un lac inutilisable signifie entre autres une baisse de la valeur foncière des résidences, perte de revenus pour la municipalité, baisse de l’attrait touristique, du nombre de résidences secondaires, diminution du tourisme et de la clientèle des commerces.

Lac Brome

Émis le : 20 juin 2024

Transparence de l'eau

 

Profondeur SECCHI

 

Température de l'eau

 

Risque de bloom de cyanobactéries

Hauteur de l'eau

Débit à l'exutoire

Claire

3,9 m de visibilité

24,2 °C

Moyen

196,98 m

 

1,04 m³/sec

Condition du lac

Conditions générales du lac

La vie d’un lac sur une échelle géologique s’avère relativement courte.  À l’image de la vie humaine, à partir de la naissance, le lac vieilli, les parois de sa cuvette se recouvrent lentement de sédiments venant des affluents, ou de matières organiques qui se décomposent dans le fond.  Lentement le lac se transforme, il devient moins profond, il y a davantage d’envasement, de plantes aquatiques, jusqu’au jour où le lac ressemble davantage à un marais qu’à un plan d’eau proprement dit.  Tous ces changements modifient le niveau trophique du lac, ce qui veut dire : le niveau de production biologique et de la composition physicochimique de l’eau.

Niveaux trophiques des lacs

CLB mesure, tout au cours de l’été, les différents paramètres qui donnent une indication du niveau trophique du lac.  Le tableau qui suit montre à quels niveaux se situe le lac en 2021 selon chaque indicateur. 

Niveau trophique lac Brome 2023_RSVL.png
jumelles-chaloupe_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Le lac mésotrophe

Le lac est considéré mésotrophe, donc il est productif.  Cette productivité se caractérise par une augmentation d'algues et de plantes aquatiques. Le changement d’un lac oligotrophe à un lac eutrophe opère naturellement sur une longue échelle de temps, mais les activités humaines peuvent provoquer une accélération rapide de ces changements.

lac.png
Qualité de l'eau

Le phosphore et l’azote en abondance sont la principale cause de cette dégradation.

Ces nutriments essentiels pour les végétaux, lorsque présents en surabondance, créent un déséquilibre qui augmente la productivité du lac.  Donc plus de nourriture, plus de plantes et de poissons, mais aussi à terme, un manque d’oxygène pour les êtres vivants aérobies, comme les poissons. Le niveau de chlorophylle est important, ce qui montre un milieu dont la biomasse d’algues microscopiques en suspension est très élevée. Cette variable situe l’état trophique du lac dans la classe eutrophe.

Quant à la concentration moyenne de carbone organique dissous, elle est 3,4 mg/l, ce qui indique que l’eau est légèrement colorée.  La couleur a donc une faible incidence sur la transparence de l’eau. La perte de transparence de l’eau est donc attribuable aux algues présentes dans la colonne d’eau.

bottom of page